Warning: May Contain Knees-Up

Until the advent of the internal combustion engine, the bells of St Mary Le Bow (in Cheapside EC2) could be heard five or so miles away in Leyton and Stratford. Despite the purists who claim that the East End finishes at the Bow Flyover, the denizens of E10, E15 (and now E20) are bona-fide Cockneys.

Last sunday we walked into the Birkbeck Tavern, and found ourselves being entertained by a bevy (an oyster?) of uber-Cockneys; Pearly Kings And Queens.

Incredible how far these immortal old songs have burrowed into the nation’s consciousness; I found myself singing along to The Man Who Broke The Bank At Monte Carlo without even realising I knew the words, although I was stumped by a ditty that contained the line ‘Git yer ‘ands orf me bristols’.¬†Have a banana.

About teninchwheels

Designer, photographer and Vespa-fixated pub bore. Born in Yorkshire, living in that London these past 20 years. Get in touch at teninchwheels@gmail.com, especially if you'd like to send me some free beer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Warning: May Contain Knees-Up

  1. Artog says:

    I’d love to see a real live pearly king and queen, but as far as I can make out they don’t have specific days that they come out and do their thing. Is it just the case that if I hang about for long enough in the east end I’ll see them?

Leave a Reply

